20 teams line up at the start of the CEV Champions League Women 2025


Article Tue, Jul 9 2024

The biggest clubs in Europe will be once again holding their breath in anticipation of the results of the Drawing of Lots for the upcoming season of the world’s biggest club competition, the CEV Champions League Volley. 

Once again, 20 teams will line up at the start of the competition, with 15 teams already qualified, with all the sides in Cup 4 being determined after the 3rd round of the European premium competition.

Three Italian and two Turkish teams make the composition of Cup 1, with reigning champions A. Carraro Imoco Conegliano headlining, as the Italian champions are also the title holders in the CEV Champions League Volley Women. They are joined by two other Italian teams, last season’s runners-up, Vero Volley Milano, and Savino Del Bene Scandicci.

Turkish powerhouses Fenerbahçe Medicana Istanbul, which made the semi-finals three years in a row, and Eczacıbaşı Dynavit Istanbul, a perennial contender in the European premium competition are also part of Cup 1.

In Cup 2, six-time champions VakifBank Istanbul will be the team to avoid for the powerhouses in Cup 1, with two Polish teams – DevelopRes Rzeszów and national cup winners BKS Bostik ZGO Bielsko-Biała – plus two French sides - Levallois Paris Saint Cloud and Neptunes Nantes – joining the fray.

Nantes are returning for the first time since the 2020/21 season, while Levallois Paris Saint Cloud, which won the French title for the first time in history, make their debut in the CEV Champions League Women.

Two German sides – Allianz MTV Stuttgart and SSC Palmberg Schwerin – are in Cup 3, alongside with Bulgarian champion Maritsa Plovdiv, Hungarian champions Vasas Obuda Budapest and Slovenian side Calcit Kamnik.

The Drawing of Lots will take place on 16 July in Luxembourg, the home of the CEV and European Volleyball and can be followed on the official CEV YouTube channel.

Cup 1: A. Carraro Imoco Conegliano (ITA), Savino Del Bene Scandicci (ITA), Fenerbahçe Medicana Istanbul (TUR), Eczacıbaşı Dynavit Istanbul (TUR), Vero Volley Milano (ITA)

Cup 2: VakifBank Istanbul (TUR), DevelopRes Rzeszów (POL), BKS Bostik ZGO Bielsko-Biała (POL), Levallois Paris Saint Cloud (FRA), Neptunes Nantes (FRA)

Cup 3: Allianz MTV Stuttgart (GER), SSC Palmberg Schwerin (GER), Maritsa Plovdiv (BUL), Vasas Obuda Budapest (HUN), Calcit Kamnik (SLO)

Cup 4: Winner CL 3rd Round, Winner CL 3rd Round, Winner CL 3rd Round, Winner CL 3rd Round, Winner CL 3rd Round